Several BIDSA Members Receive Recognition
| 05/09/2018
Several BIDSA Members Receive Recognition

The Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS) Recognizes Two BIDSA Fellows

Two BIDSA members received recognition by the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS) during its Annual Meeting on Probability and Statistics, July 2-6, 2018, in Vilnius, Lithuania.

Antonio Lijoi
, Professor of Statistics in the Department of Decisions Sciences was named IMS Fellow during an induction ceremony on July 2nd 2018. Antonio was selected by a committee of his peers for his groundbreaking research in Bayesian Nonparametrics and his commitment to mentoring students.

Sonia Petrone
, Professor of Statistics, was invited to deliver a Medallion Lecture on July 2nd 2018. The focus of her lecture, entitled Bayesian predictive learning beyond exchangeability, was on predictive constructions, beyond exchangeability, based on (interacting) stochastic processes with time-dependent or random reinforcement.

Speakers of the Medallion Lectures are selected by the IMS Special Lectures Committee as an acknowledgement to their contribution to the field. Lecturers are awarded a medallion in a brief ceremony preceding their speech.
Established in 1935, IMS has 4,000 members all over the world and publishes some of the most prestigious peer-reviewed journals of the field, including Annals of Statistics, Annals of Probability and Statistical Science.


BIDSA Affiliate Awarded NVidia GPU Grant

Silvio Petriconi received a NVidia GPU Grant. He will use the unit for his work on convolutional neural network training.  Silvio is an economist and Assistant Professor of Finance who is specialized in banking and macro financial theory. His research interests are in the fields of banking theory and corporate finance, as well as topics related to digital payments and economic networks.


BIDSA Director named ISBA Fellow

Igor Pruenster, Professor of Statistics and Director of BIDSA, was named Fellow of the International Society for Bayesian Analysis (ISBA). A committee of eight past fellows elects ISBA Fellows on a bi-annual basis to recognize ISBA members who have made outstanding contributions in some aspect of statistical work (publication, teaching, and service, including service to the society).